Shakira – Waka Waka (This Time For Africa)

So i’ve found another official world cup song, this time by Shakira.  It’s called “Waka Waka (This Time For Africa)” and I believe there is both an English and a Spanish version.  The chorus is not in English, but I’m not sure which African language or dialect it’s in. Probably something used in South Africa.

Now, I’m not sure if this is the official song alongside K’naan and his song, “Wavin’ Flag,” or if it replaces it.  I’ll look into it.  Maybe there’s two songs??

Anyways, here is Shakira’s song, although with a fan-made video.  I’m sure in time there will be an actual video for it, probably involving some soccer players and a half-naked Shakira.

So here’s the video.  At the top, it actually has a link to the Spanish version of it.  Enjoy!!

As much as I love the K’naan song, this is much more upbeat.

~Suz

3 thoughts on “Shakira – Waka Waka (This Time For Africa)

  1. Nancy says:

    Great song but the video is really what makes it art….ahh shots of football players overwhlmed with emotions? Mama like.

    Also great blog! I just found it by accident and I’m glad I did. 🙂
    Keep up the good work!

  2. ocdtetris says:

    This is the official Fifa world cup song, and yes there is a spanish and english version! The african language is Swahili, and “Waka” is swahili for “shine”. The video is on my page, (“Waka Waka is here!”, it’s in your ‘related posts’) and it’s really good.

Leave a Reply

