Rooney named PFA Player of the Year

Wayne Rooney, the 24-year-old Manchester United and England striker, was named Player of the Year by the Professional Footballers’ Association on sunday night.

He has previously won the Young Player of the Year award twice, in 2005 and 2006. In his young career, he has won 3 Premier League titles, 2 League cups, and a Champions League.

Although currently out of action with a groin injury he received in training, he has scored 34 goals this season.

He hopes to be back in for Manchester’s remaining matches.  He is optimistic about England’s World Cup chances, and dismisses comments that England needs him in order to win.

Runner up for the Player of the Year award was Didier Droga, a striker for Chelsea.  Arsenal midfielder Cesc Fàbregas was third.

Aston Villa and England midfielder James Milne won the Young Player award.

Former South Africa international Lucas Radabe, who played for England’s Leeds United, won the PFA special merit award for his community service in both countries.

The PFA awards are voted on by Premier League players.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s